Stephen Curry Wins Back-to-Back MVP Awards

Stephen Curry Wins Back-to-Back MVP Awards

A photo posted by hoopedup (@hoopedup) on

Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry is the unanimous winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2015-16 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player, the league announced today. Curry is the 11th player in NBA history to win the award in consecutive seasons (the first guard to do so since Steve Nash in 2004-05 and 2005-06) and the 39th player in the history of the four major professional sports to be named MVP in back-to-back campaigns. In franchise history, only Curry and Wilt Chamberlain (1959-60) have earned the honor, with Curry becoming the club’s first two-time winner of the award.

From a panel of 130 voters that consisted of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada, as well as an MVP fan vote, Curry totaled 1,310 points to become the first unanimous winner of the award in league history.

Press Release

Previous Story

Vintage Dwyane Wade Rallies Heat to Game 4 Win

Next Story

NBA x MLB ‘NBA 2K16’ Mashup