No Further Action Against Rondo

The league office ruled Wednesday that the referees acted properly when they did not assess a flagrant foul against the Boston guard after he whacked Chicago’s Brad Miller in the mouth with two seconds remaining in Game 5 of the Boston Celtics-Chicago Bulls series Tuesday night. A league spokesman said the play “stands as called,” meaning there will be no further penalty against Rondo. League officials had the option of upgrading the foul to a flagrant-category 1 or a flagrant-category 2 — the latter of which occasionally can come with an accompanying suspension, if NBA officials deem the foul particularly egregious. 

ESPN.com